Inter-institutional Coordination Structures for European Integration

Inter-institutional coordination structures of the Republic of Kosovo for the European integration process are created to coordinate implementation of reforms to fulfil the obligations arising from the Stabilisation and Association Agreement (SAA) and other mechanisms of integration into the European Union (EU).

These structures function pursuant to the Government Decision No. 03/06, dated 3 April 2021, which defines their composition, scope and manner of functioning.

These structures are the following:

  • Ministerial Council for European Integration (MCEI), at the political level;
  • Working Committee for European Integration (WCEI), at the highest level of the civil service; and
  • Seven (7) Sectorial Working Groups for European Integration (SWGEI):
  • SWGEI on Trade, Industry, Customs and Taxation;
  • SWGEI on Agriculture and Fisheries;
  • SWGEI on Internal Market and Competition;
  • SWGEI on Economic and Financial Issues and Statistics;
  • SWGEI on Governance;
  • SWGEI on Innovation, Information Society and Social Policy; and
  • SWGEI on Transport, Energy, Environment and Regional Development.

These structures are working forums that prepare decision-making for implementation of reforms required by the SAA and other mechanisms of the Stabilisation and Association process. They reflect the joint institutional structures with the EU established under the SAA and will be further developed in the next stages of EU integration.

In order to implement these reforms, all these structures deal with the pillars of the European integration process at all levels of decision-making, namely with:

  • State policies, including approximation of national legislation to the EU acquis and assistance from the EU and other development partners;
  • Implementation of political priorities and state documents for EU integration;
  • Cooperation with the Assembly of the Republic of Kosovo and other independent institutions;
  • Cooperation with civil society and other stakeholders;
  • Cooperation with EU institutions and its member states, as well as other initiatives and mechanisms in the EU; and
  • Regional and bilateral cooperation with other countries that are in the Stabilisation and Association process.

Within the pillars listed above, all these structures have separate responsibilities and are functionally linked among themselves.

The Ministerial Council for European Integration focuses on the highest political level, where issues and relevant documents are reviewed and proposed to the Government for formal decision-making for implementation of specific reforms.

The Working Committee for European Integration discusses issues related to cooperation between ministries and other state institutions in the implementation of reforms, addresses the challenges and shortcomings arising at the sectorial level, and forwards to the Ministerial Council only those issues that require discussion and decision-making at the political level.

Sectorial Working Groups for European Integration coordinate day-to-day activities within the respective sectors in implementing these reforms.

Decision no. 06_03 for coordination structures for IE
Minister Bekim Çollaku
Bekim Çollaku